Scottish LSAs soldier on

A 1991 EC Directive on urban wastewater treatment allows reduced levels of sewage treatment in designated "less sensitive areas" (LSAs). The UK and Portugal have been the only Member States to take advantage of the derogation. The Government designated 72 coastal LSAs in 1994, 24 of which were in Scotland.

Sign in to continue

Sign in

Trouble signing in?

Reset password: Click here


Call: 020 8267 8120

Take a 30-day trial

  • Join ENDS Report now and pay nothing for your first 30-days.



Prices on request

  • Full access to for 12 months
  • Clear and accessible guidance on relevant legislation
  • Integration with ENDS Compliance Manager helping you plan ahead and ensure compliance for your organisation
  • Individual or bespoke multi-user packages available

See all benefits

Need to activate your subscription?
Already a subscriber
If you haven't already, activate your subscription here>>
Company Domain Access
If your company or university has a corporate subscription simply register your email address here to gain access