ECHA consults on priority substances

The European Chemicals Agency (ECHA) is recommending that only seven substances should be subjected to the first authorisations and restrictions under the REACH chemicals regime.1

The substances were selected from the candidate list of 15 substances of very high concern that ECHA unveiled last October (ENDS Report 406, pp 48-49 ). The agency was instructed to develop a priority list - the ‘REACH authorisation list’ - from these substances to include in Annex XIV of the REACH Regulation. The selected substances are:

  • 5-tert-butyl-2,4,6-trinitro-m-xylene (musk xylene)
  • Alkanes, C10-13, chloro (short chain chlorinated paraffins or SCCPs)
  • Hexabromocyclododecane (HBCDD) and diastereoisomers
  • 4,4’-Diamino diphenyl methane (MDA)
  • Bis (2-ethylhexyl) phthalate (DEHP)
  • Benzyl butyl phthalate (BBP)
  • Dibutyl phthalate (DBP)

Please sign in or register to continue.

Sign in to continue reading

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Subscribe for full access

or Register for limited access

Already subscribe but don't have a password?
Activate your web account here