Three gas-fired power stations get go-ahead

The Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) has given permission for three new gas-fired power stations to be built. They are RWE Npower’s 2,000 megawatt power station at Pembroke, South Wales, Centrica’s 1,020MW facility at King’s Lynn, Norfolk, and Powerfuel‘s 800MW plant at Hatfield, Yorkshire. Government consent for new power stations is required under the Electricity Act 1989.

Sign in to continue

Sign in

Trouble signing in?

Reset password: Click here


Call: 020 8267 8120

Register for
Free Trial

  • 14 day access to subscriber-only content



Prices on request

  • Full access to for 12 months
  • Monthly print issues
  • Clear and accessible guidance on relevant legislation
  • Integration with ENDS Compliance Manager helping you plan ahead and ensure compliance for your organisation
  • Individual or bespoke multi-user packages available

See all benefits