Metropolitan waste authorities to be abolished

The six statutory joint waste disposal authorities established in the wake of the abolition of the metropolitan county councils are to be disbanded, Environment Minister David Trippier announced in a parliamentary answer in March.1

The six authorities were set up in 1986. Four are in London. The other two cover Merseyside and Greater Manchester.

Announcing the decision to abolish them, Mr Trippier said that they will shortly be sent notices of the Government's intention to direct them to establish separate waste disposal companies or, where they are intending to privatise their disposal operations, to propose a timetable for this. The divestment of their disposal op

Please sign in or register to continue.

Sign in to continue reading

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Subscribe for full access

or Register for limited access

Already subscribe but don't have a password?
Activate your web account here