DEFRA names new permanent secretary

Tamara Finkelstein will take up the role of DEFRA permanent secretary on a permanent basis, replacing Clare Moriarty who left to join the Department for Exiting the European Union in March, it has been announced.

Finkelstein has been interim permanent secretary since Moriarty left, but today cabinet secretary Sir Mark Sedwill, with the agreement of the prime minister, announced that she would be made permanent in the role.

Finkelstein was previously DEFRA’s director general for EU Exit.

Please sign in or register to continue.

Sign in to continue reading

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Subscribe for full access

or Register for limited access

Already subscribe but don't have a password?
Activate your web account here