Welsh power station closure to bring UK’s coal fleet down to four

German energy giant RWE has announced it plans to close the Aberthaw B coal fired power station in March 2020, citing “challenging” market conditions for coal power in the UK.

The decision will leave the UK with just four operating coal plants: Drax’s two remaining coal units, West Burton (operated by EDF), Ratcliffe (E.On) and Kilroot in Northern Ireland (AES).

Aberthaw B, with a capacity of almost 1.6 gigawatts, employs around 170 people and is the only remaining coal power plant in Wales. The plans will now be put out to consultation among staff and trade unions. 

The power station’s existing capacity market agreements up to 2021 will be transferred to a mix of other power companies and other units within RWE’s fleet, the company said. 

Please sign in or register to continue.

Sign in to continue reading

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Subscribe for full access

or Register for limited access

Already subscribe but don't have a password?
Activate your web account here