General election result: 6 things you need to know

The environment minister Zac Goldsmith has lost his seat while other DEFRA heavy weights hang on. Here's what you need to know.

The Conservative Party has seen its best general election performance since the 1980s. Photograph: Christopher Furlong / Getty Images

1 Environment minister Zac Goldsmith lost his seat

Environment minister Zac Goldsmith has lost his west London seat to Liberal Democrat Sarah Olney.

While the Conservative Party saw its best general election performance since the 1980s, Goldsmith took only 41.2% of the Richmond Park vote, with Olney gaining 53.1% in the tightly marginal seat. 

Across the country, the Conservatives now have a majority of 79, their largest since the 1980s.

Lamenting Goldsmith’s departure, Wild Justice co-founder Mark Avery said Goldsmith was “an environmentalist of real passion and despite the fact that I disagree with him on many, many things I regret his loss from Parliament and from a role in government.” MORE

2 DEFRA’s heavyweights hang on to power

The environment secretary Theresa Villiers held on to her Chipping Barnet seat with 44.7% of the vote, narrowly beating Labour who took 42.6%. 

DEFRA ministers George Eustice (Cambourne and Redruth) and Rebecca Pow (Taunton Deane) both won convincingly in their constituencies, taking 53.1% and 56.3% respectively.  MORE

3 Johnson pledges to hit net zero in victory speech

"You voted to be carbon neutral by 2050 and we will do it,” Boris Johnson said in his victory speech.

Johnson’s withdrawal deal is expected to be presented to parliament on Friday next week, immediately after the Queen’s speech on Thursday. 

A minor reshuffle will also need to follow, including a replacement for Zac Goldsmith. MORE

4 Shadow DEFRA secretary Sue Hayman and colleagues fail to win seats

The shadow DEFRA secretary and Workington MP Sue Hayman lost to the Conservatives’ Mark Jenkinson by 4,176 votes. 

The shadow environment minister David Drew (Stroud) and shadow waste minister Sandy Martin (Ipswich) also lost their seats to the Tories. 

The only shadow environment minister to win in their constituency was Luke Pollard (Plymouth Sutton and Devonport) who won 47.9% of the vote, beating the Conservative’s Rebecca Smith who took 38.9%. 

Labour’s crushing defeat in the general election prompted Jeremy Corbyn’s announcement that he would be standing down as leader of the party. MORE

5 An Office for Environmental Protection will be established

The Tory Party’s manifesto, launched last Sunday, committed to implementing all the measures set out in the Environment Bill, including the establishment of the new Office for Environmental Protection regulator post-Brexit.

The ‘public money for public goods’ subsidy system for farming, as set out in the Agriculture Bill, will also be reintroduced as will the Waste and Resources Strategy to introduce extended producer responsibility and a bottle deposit return scheme. MORE

6 Jo Swinson resigns as Liberal Democrat leader 

The former leader of the Liberal Democrats Jo Swinson has resigned as leader of the party after losing her Scottish seat.

The Scottish National Party (SNP) candidate Amy Callaghan defeated Swinson by a slim majority of 149 votes in the constituency of East Dunbartonshire.

The Liberal Democrats had pledged to spend £100bn tackling the effects of climate change and protecting the environment. 

The party's deputy leader, Ed Davey, and president, Sal Brinton, will act as caretaker-leaders until the party chooses a new leader next year.