Labour unveils shadow DEFRA team

Shadow environment secretary Luke Pollard has unveiled Labour’s environment team for the new parliamentary session.

Alan Whitehead, who represents Southampton Test, will be responsible for the waste and recycling portfolio while continuing in his previous role as shadow energy minister. 

Ruth Jones, the MP for Newport West who sat on the Environmental Audit Committee in the last parliament, takes on the fisheries brief.

Meanwhile, Cambridge MP Daniel Zeichner will be responsible for farming, opposite DEFRA minister George Eustice. 

Please sign in or register to continue.

Sign in to continue reading

Having trouble signing in?

Contact Customer Support at
or call 020 8267 8120

Subscribe for full access

or Register for limited access

Already subscribe but don't have a password?
Activate your web account here