DEFRA appoints new members to Natural Capital Committee

Print friendly version


Paul Leinster
Paul Leinster

DEFRA has appointed six new members to the independent advisory Natural Capital Committee (NCC).

The government extended the life of committee, which reports to the Treasury, with economist Dieter Helm as chair in December 2015.

The NCC pushed for the creation of a 25-year environment plan during the last parliament and has now been tasked with implementing it.

 The new members are:

  • Paul Leinster, professor of environmental assessment at Cranfield University and former chief executive of the Environment Agency.
  • Colin Mayer, professor of management studies at the Said Business School at the University of Oxford.
  • Diane Coyle, professor of economics at the University of Manchester and director of consultancy Enlightenment Economics.
  • Georgina Mace, professor of biodiversity and ecosystems at UCL and director of the Centre for Biodiversity and Environment Research.
  • Ian Bateman, professor and director of the Centre for Social and Economic Research on the Global Environment.
  • Kathy Willis, director of science at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, founding director of the Oxford University Biodiversity Institute and professor of biodiversity and head of the long-term ecology laboratory at the University of Oxford.
Environmental Practice Guides